Director’s agonizing dreams

“Burden of Dreams” is a documentary about the impossibly complicated shoot for Herzog’s film, “Fitzcarraldo”. As the main character suffers a Sisyphean journey of bringing opera to the jungle, so does the German director go to hell and back to finish this story. With almost a supernatural will to go on, at the end of the documentary Herzog explains why he does what he does.

Werner Herzog – “It’s not only my dreams. My belief is that these dreams are yours as well. And the only distinction between me and you is that I can articulate them. And that is what poetry or painting or literature or filmmaking is all about. It’s as simple as that. And I make films because I have not learned anything else. And it is my duty because this could be the inner chronicle of what we are. “

Leave a Reply

